Two very different men

Man # 1

I know that winters can be quite a nuisance for those who are lucky enough to have it. 🙂 I have a job and drive a car; in fact, I had a bad experience one time driving in the snow. My car swerved left and right with no friction against the sleet. Somehow, I managed to lead my car to the side of the highway, oncoming traffic passing as I looked dazed through my windshield window.

It could have been seconds or minutes after when a man came to me and asked if I needed any help. I don’t remember having said anything, only that I exited my car and watched him as he turned my car around to face traffic (on the shoulder of the highway, it’s not easy to do when there are so many cars fleeting by). Really, this moment seemed just as fleeting as the passing cars. One moment he was there, like an angel with surety and care, and the next he was gone.

I don’t remember scene by scene what occurred, only the kindness that came from one man. For quite a long time, I’ve done the same for others (the spreading of kindness in many ways). It’s common knowledge that how one acts towards others, especially strangers, is a reflection of one’s inner strife: the less morose it is, the more space in which lovely energies may reside. My last post is a consequence of recent events: good things, in fact, they are. Then devilish things come about to try to make something good turn to bad by intertwining good and bad elements: essentially, it is making the good seem good and bringing confusion by making the bad seem good. My girlfriend helped me to realize this. It’s really a clever trick, and there were times when I really just found myself in such a state of melancholy, overly thinking of future days (knowing that life must be taken one day at a time), for Jesus said – and it is lovely how so many wondrous morals and lessons are found in the Bible – do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble. Essentially, it is written that one must seek God, for He knows that we seek food and shelter and clothing.

Man # 2:

I find it sad when I look at someone who is yelling mindlessly and cursing in a situation that is nowhere near as profound as the swerving of my car. In any moment or situation, no one should merit the audacity to be so rude. I made a left turn once to enter into the lane opposite from which I was leaving work. Those kind of left turns are intimidating because it’s a block of maybe 50 metres in distance with a traffic light on each end. So if one way is clear, another one surely is not, and one has to not only make it for good timing when both lights are red but also to rely on leniency and respect from other drivers. As I wait and wait, I find no cars coming in one lane, and the one further down into which I want to turn contains a bunch of vehicles waiting for the light to change. I find a gap as the cars wait, so I drive into the gap between two cars allowing for enough room for a truck to pass by behind me. The man in the car behind the gap had such a callous and frightening gaze towards me. He yelled and cursed (unable to hear any of his words, but I knew that he cursed).

I did not do anything of the sort as he was doing. The light was still red, so I clasped my two hands together as I would normally do when I pray, and I begged him to calm down. “Please, sir,” I said to him, “Please be calm,” I implored, and I kissed my hand as an offer of peace between us, because how else does one bring forth a sign of respect. I thought, at the time, of nothing better than to clasp my hands together and to widen my lips so that he could know I asked him to “Pleeeaase” stop.

His impatience was both unruly and unkind. He persisted to pass me, putting himself unnecessarily into the adjacent lane, when it was silly to do so as I would undoubtedly advance once the light changed – and I did. It was really just one of those people whom I knew was just going through something. It seems unjust and cruel to react in such a manner when things are just right as rain within.

Therefore, we must keep the faith good people. Through the elements of nature, albeit the cold and dastardly fog, we have our own natural desire and need to be good. Escape from the night of temptation and of desperation, of unkind ways, and raise the sun in your hearts to yourself and to others.

One thought on “Two very different men

  1. Pingback: More humans in my journey of life | adamintheeve

Leave a Reply

