We have to at least try

Part One

I turned my head around swiftly to the sound of words I’d never heard before working here: “Mr. CEO wants to talk to you.”

I actually didn’t feel a pang of any discouragement. Especially when I’d sent him an email the same day to let me know if there’s anything I can do to help, my guess is that it wouldn’t be as simple as saying, “Thank you for bringing this to my attention,” and putting an end to it.

“Have a seat.”

I sat down while he fidgeted about a little, searching for the words to begin.

“About 1/3 of Canada throws out food,” he started. I was contemplating if such a statistic is accurate, but I’m not surprised by it. He went on to say that restaurants, businesses, luncheons, executive dinners, and so forth do the same thing. Well, I thought, from what you started with, it can’t be all of them. Instead, I nodded in agreement to what he was saying simply because it’s true; this is the world in which we live. Businesses strive to make money; and to make money, clients must be satisfied. One way in which they are satisfied is to ensure that they are well taken care of. Providing ample food for their bellies is one of them, and if there’s not enough food, it is given as left-overs the following day to the employees of the company, at least in this one, and if no one eats all of the food, the rest of it is thrown away.

My logic is why not take the same food given on the same day and drive it down to shelters and the like? Because they may not take time to do it maybe? Well, why not make time for it? Especially if the preventing engagement isn’t pertinent. It could be a family project for those in the company with families. On the next event in which I participate, I want to make this possibility known to the people there. I was pleased when, without having to make a question out of this, he said that he’d tried to go to shelters, but they would not accept food that has been exposed outside like that. I can understand that, because if someone were to get food poisoning and we were the ones who donated the food, the company’s reputation would be tarnished.

“My father was like this,” he added, “so I understand what you’re doing and where you’re coming from.”

At the end of it, I’m not surprised really by what was said during our discussion. My words, having been repeated by my heart and mouth at least twice, were the following: We have to at least try! If we simply sit there and allow the food to be thrown away because that’s the easier thing to do, then we are not trying. This is not noble. As long as we are on a good and noble path in which we try for the betterment of others, then it will be what it will be, but we have to at least try.

I told him those words, and he nodded in agreement. I hope that it was something that we could both take away from this conversation, which happened yesterday. The next day, earlier this morning, I approached the secretary, because she is the one who orders the food. She, as I’d expected, is well aware of the food quantity and tries to order to match the number of invited guests. Then only a subset of the invited list appears at the event. My heart had flitted madly inside my chest to approach her, which is why I did, and I’m glad that I did, but there’s one thing I didn’t say to her.

“What if we could just order one tin of food mixed together – rice, potatoes, chicken, fish, vegetables, and whatever is the theme of the occasion – and have small portions divided amongst us. Why couldn’t we try that? Why not? I don’t understand why we couldn’t each simply take one plate with a small portion of rice/potatoes, of meat, and of veggies to divide amongst all the people. With one tin, people would be less likely to take more than they can handle, and we could be thankful for the food we receive.”

Those were about the words I did speak to someone: a colleague who sits next to me with whom we share beliefs. I had to say it to someone, and he agreed with me.

“But you have to consider how they are,” he went on to say. “If people come to an event and see that the food is insufficient to their need, and they don’t get enough in their belly, then they complain.”

“I think that if we were to propose it to them at the time of the event, describing in advance what we wish to do, then I think they might want to try it. Something like, ‘1/3 of Canada’s food is simply tossed into the trash. Let us not take more than we need and be thankful for what we have. We will share the food we order and be thankful for it’, or something along those lines.”

I think that with the right marketing, because some humans may need something like that to be convinced, I don’t see why it couldn’t be done.

I am really just appalled at the nature of some of the humans. They would complain because the selection of food is limited to one type of veggie, chicken, fish, and tofu (taking into account vegetarians and vegans), and they would do this instead of being thankful for what is given. Some people would thank God and the heavens for a prosperous and fertile field of crops, go down on their knees and dance in the wonderment of the coming of rain – and then some humans complain of the lack of one thing or of the grandeur of another. No matter what, we must try to be thankful for what we have.

And if we were to never at least try, we would never be where we are. The world may be better in the scope of the information age, but in the age of man, there is much that needs work. Kindness is one area where it can propagate from one human to the other, from something little to a great deal more. And the beautiful thing about kindness is that there is no need for an organization or event or whatever means to make it work; all that is needed is love to one another.

Keep the faith, fellow humans! =)

Leave a Reply

